LEED, or Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design, is a green building certification program that recognizes best-in-class building strategies and practices. To receive LEED certification, building projects satisfy prerequisites and earn points to achieve different levels of certification.

Energy And Atmosphere
Energy and Atmosphere: 1-10 points
This category promotes optimizing the energy performance of a building through innovative strategies. Using energy-efficient LED lighting throughout your project could be worth anywhere from 1-10 certification points.
Indoor Environment Quality: 1 point
This category promotes better indoor air quality and access to daylight and views. Adding daylight harvesting or occupancy and vacancy sensors tied to a lighting control system may help earn this credit.
Sustainable Sites: 1 point
Reducing light pollution can earn 1 pt. toward LEED certification. LED lighting can be programmed to automatically dim in response to ambient light or time of day, eliminating wasted light. It can also be programmed to automatically shut off.
Innovation and Design Process: 1-4 points
Sourcing innovative products could earn between 1-4 points towards LEED certification. Low-voltage LED lighting is a new and innovative technology, and may qualify under this category.
Total possible points: 16 points